12.5 hours per year, 1 hour of which must be in the area of legal ethics and 1 hour of which must be in the area of professionalism. Only 4 hours may be earned through online courses. Newly admitted attorneys need 12.5 hours including 8 hours legal ethics, professionalism or law practice management.
Reporting Deadline: January 31.
11 hours per calendar year, 1 hour of which must be in the area of ethics or professional responsibility. Half of that requirement may be earned through the use of self-study materials, to include audio, video, written text, teleconference, satellite, webcasts or online programming.
Reporting Deadline: August 31 to report hours for prior calendar year.
12 hours per year by July 31, 1 hour of which must be in the area of legal ethics, professional responsibility, professionalism, malpractice prevention subtance abuse or mental health. Only 6 hours of training may be through satellite-transmitted or electronically recorded or produced materials.
Reporting Deadline: August 15.
15 hours per year by June 30, 2 of which must be devoted to professionalism, legal or judical ethics, or malpractice prevention. Only 6 hours may be attained through self-study.
Reporting Deadline: July 31.
15 hours per year with at least 10 of those hours resulting from interactive seminars. 5 hours of ethics training is required every 3 years, 1 hour of which must be satisfied by a program on the relationship between the lawyer's professional responsibilities and substance abuse, chemical dependency or debilitating mental condition.
Reporting Date: May 15.
10 hours per calendar year, 2 hours of which must be in the area of professional responsibility. Distance/video learning is limited to 5 hours per reporting period. In-house training courses are limited to 5 hours per reporting period.
Reporting Deadline: December 31.
12 hours per year by June 30, 2 hours of which must be in the area of legal ethics, professionalism or the prevention of malpractice, substance abuse or attorney-client disputes. A minimum of 6 hours must be met by attending live presentations (other than in-office courses) as a student.
Reporting Deadline: October 1.
Only for Attorneys seeking or maintaining certification. Contact the New Jersey State Bar or go to the New Jersey Courts website by clinking link above to get information relating to CLE requirements.
12 hours each calendar year, 2 hours of which must be ethics or professionalism credits responsibility subjects, and 1 hour of professionalism. A minimum of 8 hours of credits must be obtained from formal "live" courses of instruction and a maximum of 4 hours of credit may be obtained by self-study.
Reporting Deadline: May 1.
Newly Admitted Attorneys: Practicing less than 2 years in NY (or less than 5 years in another jurisdiction immediately preceding admission to the NY Bar.)
32 hours transitional education within the first two years admission to the Bar. 16 hours completed each year, of which 3 hours must be ethics and professionalism, 6 hours must be practical skills, and 7 hours must be practice management and areas of professional practice.
Experienced Attorneys: 24 hours over two year period, 4 hours of which must be ethics and professionalism
All Attorneys: Reporting Deadline: every two years from the time admitted to the bar.
12 hours each calendar year, 2 hours of which must be in the area of professional responsibility or professionalism or any combination thereof. At least once every three calendar years, each lawyer must complete an additional hour of professional responsibility devoted exclusively to instruction in substance abuse awareness or debilitating mental conditions, and a lawyer's professional responsibilities. Only 4 hours of online courses are permitted for each compliance year.
Reporting Deadline: February 28.
45 hours by June 30 every 3 years, of which, 3 hours, must be in the area of ethics or course work commonly considered professional responsibility. A maximum of 15 credit hours may be self study.
Reporting Deadline: By July 30 after the close of each 3-year reporting period.
These states require lawyers to take mandatory or minimum continuing legal education courses in order to practice law within that particular jurisdiction.
This information is intended to serve as a guide only and should not be deemed to be comprehensive, nor used as a sole source of information. For further information on your state CLE requirements, contact your state bar association or the pertinent regulatory body.